18.08.15

Being diagnosed with M.S is a shock to say the least, its like your body has malfunctioned and you have lots of symptoms that show out through your body, the question is Why?

 

I’ve suffered with illness since i was young and I’ve always had to struggle with being ill, and this then effected me through school. After seeing plenty and plenty of doctors and having tons and tons of blood tests (Erck) I finally was diagnosed with ME it felt great to finally have a diagnosis, and meet people who were feeling the same way, but anyway if i go on about every illness or cold I’ve ever had ill be here for years! 

 

Basically I’ve always always suffered with fatigue and feeling generally drained and exhausted, but with having ME there’s no medication you can take to help, sure you get the grandparents saying to take this veggie oil and that syrup and to sit in the sun everyday for 5 minuets, and these things might help but i still was always so exhausted.

_____

 

3 Years ago when my sister was diagnosed with MS, this was the first thing id really heard about MS, it was a total shock to the whole family and we didn’t have a clue about this disease, going though this period of time of her being ill and getting diagnosed we kinda all pulled our socks up as a family, we’ve always had a close knit connection but at this time we just focused on our little family and no one else.

 

Finally my sister got onto a medication drip, called tysabri ,this helps with the MS and stops it attacking the nerve endings, At this point Id just like to say that I’m no way a doctor or a know-it-all about MS! its still very new to me and i don’t know all the ins and outs, i leave the nitty gritty to the doctors. From that day on she’s been great i mean she obviously still has MS but if you were to meet her in person you wouldn’t be able to tell.

 

Fast Forward 3 Years..

It started when i actually got my braces took off and started wearing the horrible plastic retainers you get, when my speech started to become slurred so slurred sometimes that my mum couldnt even understand me!

After this the signs just kept coming..Vertigo – which i put down to heat stroke- Slurred speech -i thought tiredness and my ME- and then Pins and needles in my hand which was painful to touch it was just uncomfortable and not a normal thing. Also tingling in my mouth and side of my tongue

 

At this point we started seeing doctors who were fast and so helpful and of course plenty of blood tests and MRI’s alongside and again all the nurses at York Nuffield were so help and comforting! At this point i think we knew what we were looking at but in my head i kept thinking (Ive got ME not MS and its really unlikely that me and my sister would both have MS)

_____

 

But, because MS sucks! I was diagnosed with Relapsing-Remitting Multiple Sclerosis (RRMS) on the 18th of August,just like my sister had.

The day i got diagnosed just feels like a dream when i think of it, to be honest i wasn’t totally in shock because i knew it was coming i just didn’t want to hear it. They said to totally forget about my ME now because they think its been MS all along, but the signs have only just begun to show.

Next came the discussion of what form of medication i would take. Thats the thing between ME & MS there is some sort of action that can be taken towards it to help.

 

The day I got told I had MS, and even the full week I just didn’t want to do anything and my appetite went, but thats all expected when you get told something like this, I remember the train home from the hospital and just sobbing just because it had been finalised and I couldn’t ignore the fact it may not be MS anymore!

 

Its been a month now since being diagnosed, and i feel having been told the news i did spend a bit of time mopping about and just letting everything sink in, and actually thinking about how it would affect my life. 

After going through the first few weeks something in me just clicked and I became determined! determined not to let this over take me but most of all not let it be the main thing people think when they see me or speak about me, I didn’t want it to become me! so i thought I’d be more Gutsy take no rubbish off people, and surround myself with the people that make my life better! I think thats a good thing to remember in any big situation. Surround yourself with people who care about you, and that you enjoy being around, sometimes you’ve just got to put your ‘Sassy Pants’ and go for it! Aha 

____

-Insert someting cheesy- 

I know its total corny but I had a GRL power moment when ‘Fight Song’ from Rachel Platten came out in the charts and I thought the lyrics are 100% true and suit loads of situations!

‘Sending big waves into motion..

This is my fight song,Take back my life song, Prove I’m alright song’

_____

 

So here I am.. one thing I always thought would be so cool is to write a blog..just a little place for little old me to put my weird thoughts and to generally moan & discuss things with people about things in life.

I’m hopefully starting on the Tysabri drip this Wednesday in the hospital near me. and hopefully (Finger Crossed) I’ll final be able to get to do stuff a girl my age should be able to do, one thing I’m looking forward to is to see if it helps with my exhaustion I’ve always had.

I’m hopeful because, I can see the improvement its had on my sister and her life, so I can only hope that it works that well for me 🙂 only thing i have to get over is my needle phobia?! (MEH)

 

Anyway I hope I haven’t blabbed on for too long that you totally switched off! and I hope to write on here again soon, I’ll let you know how my first treatment day goes!

Thankyouu for reading and I hope you stay with me while iIgo through everything I don’t want this blog to be all about MS and illness of course though I want to make it about positive things! and what i get up too, 🙂


Thanks for reading if anybody actual does read this…

please leave a comment.

Type to you soon!

Bye

Amelia 

X

Leave a Reply

